2 times running the 2 Oceans

A happy belated Easter to all of you who celebrated. I don’t celebrate Easter, but I sure do celebrate public holidays…and Easter eggs.

We travelled to Cape Town for a few days, because I was registered to run the Old Mutual 2Oceans half marathon. It was my second time running the 2Oceans and I enjoyed it so much more this time around. I woke up on the Friday before the race with a sore throat and a runny nose. This meant that I spent a significant portion of the day crying, sleeping, drinking ginger-honey tea and praying that the next morning would be better. Praise be to the Almighty, the next morning I woke up bursting with energy and ready to put on my running shoes.

I reached the start line 10 minutes after the gun was shot, because I had underestimated the traffic. This meant I was behind about 16 000 other participants, so I had to walk the first few kms before I could increase my speed. Once I started jogging, there was no turning back. I had a broad smile on my face for all of the race, except when I fell and slit my palm, but we’ll save that for another day.

I loved every minute of the race – the sound of people’s takkies tapping on the tar roads, the supporters shouting our names and observing the way in which old and young, fat and thin, short and tall all unite in the simple act of running.

I’m hoping to register for a few more races this year. What can I say? I have the running bug.

Leave a comment